Easy Salmon Poke

For Christmas Eve Dinner, I make my version of the American-Italian Style Feast of the Seven Fishes.  I had never heard of this before meeting my DH. 

On one of our visits back East to see his family, we were fortunate enough to go during the Holiday Season.  My Sister-In-Laws banded together and made the meal the way that their family does it.  Neither DH nor myself could eat very many of the dishes because we have Seafood allergies.  The following year I decided that I would do it my way and have done so ever since. 

This year, DH requested that we try a different dish, one that I have never made, but okay.

Let’s give this a whirl. 

On our last trip back home to Hawaii, I brought back this bottle of Poke Sauce, HMMMM!  

Easy Salmon Poke 

2 servings 

1 6–8 ounce Salmon Fillet, ½ inch dice 

2 Tbsp. Sweet White Onion, finely minced 

2 Tbsp. Green Onions, sliced on the diagonal, divided Greens & Whites 

¼ tsp. Alaea Hawaiian Salt (you can use regular Sea Salt too) 

¼ tsp. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes 

2 Tbsp. Tanioka’s Shoyu Poke Sauce *  

¼ tsp. Sesame Oil 

1/4 package Noh’s brand Poke Mix Ogo Seaweed-optional, but really worth the effort **

¼ tsp. each Toasted & Black Sesame Seeds 

In a bowl, gently combine all of the ingredients, excluding the Green Onion tops. 

** If using the Ogo Seaweed, follow the packages direction and soak it in water for a few minutes and then squeeze it dry, breaking it up into small pieces.

Cover and chill until ready to serve. 

For service, transfer the Salmon Poke to a lovely bowl and top with the reserved Green Onions and a bit more Sesame Seeds. 

Isn’t that pretty? 

This can be served as a Poke Bowl, aka serve the cold Poke over hot steamed White Rice. 

*I know that not everyone has access to premade Poke Sauce, so I’ll add an easy one that you can make at home. 

Auntie’s Easy Shoyu Poke Sauce 

2 Tbsp. Soy Sauce 

¾ tsp. granulated Sugar 

½ tsp. Fresh Ginger, finely grated and include any juice 

½ tsp. Fresh Garlic, finely minced and include any juice 

¼ tsp. Sesame Oil 

Combine all of the ingredients in a bowl until the Sugar is dissolved. 

** Noh brand Poke Mix is so handy. I either bring it back with me from Hawaii or Las Vegas or I order it online. It makes your Poke taste that much more true to how we make it in Hawaii. The reason why I say it’s worth the effort is in that package has not only Ogo Seaweed from Hawaii, but Hawaiian Alaea Salt and Chili Pepper as we call it. I never use the entire package, because I make small batches of Poke, so I keep the leftovers in a Spice Jar.

Remember, a recipe is simply someone else’s idea, take it and make it your own.   

Cook for your friends and family!  

… and if you could, hit that ‘like’ button, leave a comment below maybe just to say ALOHA; subscribe to my blog if you like what you’re reading and get an email when a new post has been uploaded.  

MAHALO! 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.