Our May Travels

I seemed to have neglected to share with you our travels this past May. It’s been a busy few months for us, as I look back. Our nephew and his beautiful bride had to go to a conference for a week and were in need to adult supervision for their two boys and puppy. So off we flew to North Carolina.

I got to cook for three hungry guys for a week and one the things that I’ve always wanted to try was Country Ham. So here’s what’s for breakfast. Pretty easy, frozen Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits, scrambled eggs and pan fried Country Ham. GONE!

We got to spend one evening with everybody, and our NIL made these gorgeous grilled kebabs, utilizing this recipe. Add a nice salad and some fresh asparagus and you’ve got dinner.

my nephew made that

Bright and early, well bright anyways, we got up and this is what was waiting for us. Our nephew had breakfast ready for our send off. This recipe for no-knead bread couldn’t be simpler, and tasty too.

Savannah Georgia

We headed for Savannah Georgia.

Our first night in town, we decided to try Bonefish Grill.

My husband likes his mussels. This dish came with a wonderful lemon wine sauce, that we asked for on the side, it made a great dipping sauce for our entire meal.

We each ordered wood-grilled fish, Rainbow Trout for him and Chilean Sea Bass for me. The fish is offered with your choice of their signature sauces, I chose lemon butter, pan asian and herb pesto, nice.

Coconut Pie w/rum sauce @Bonefish Grill

Ya gotta have dessert! We shared a piece of Coconut Pie with an outstanding rum sauce and fresh whipped cream.

We enjoy touring on our own, so we hoofed it all over town.

What a beautiful city. I had thought ahead and purchased us two day passes on the Old Town Trolley to serve as our means of motorized transport, if so needed.  This gives you a good overview of a town; you can get on and off when and where you like.

In our trek, we came across The Lady and Sons restaurant. Can you see the line formed, going around the building. That’s okay, thanks. Where we did go in was to Paula Deen’s retail shop. If you know me, you know have this thing about collecting aprons. I found a real cute one on the sale table, thanks Paula.

Just down the block was our actual lunch destination, Belford’s. YUM! A perfectly done burger and fries for DH and a crab cake for myself. And did you know that it’s okay to walk around downtown Savannah with a cocktail in your hand? As we started to depart from our glorious lunch, our lovely waitperson asked if I would like a “to-go-cup-of-wine”.

We both enjoyed our time in both North Carolina as well as in Georgia.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Our May Travels

  1. Patrons of the Pit July 7, 2014 at 2:09 pm Reply

    Crikies you guys eat good! I pretty much know I would love that coconut creme pie. Good times.

    Like

    • auntiedoni July 7, 2014 at 2:20 pm Reply

      I cook three meals a day at home for us, EVERY DAY.

      When we travel, we like to try the local cuisine and have someone else cook and clean up for a change. I always do a ton of research on the WWW prior to any of our trips.
      OBTW, that’s straight up Coconut Pie, the only cream involved was the whipped stuff on top. Oh my gravy all over my two scoops rice (that’s OMG! in my world), FABULOUS!! I would love to have that recipe.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.