Hawaiian-Chinese Style Chicken Noodle Soup

My husband and I went to California to visit with my Mother.  On our last day with her, I started to feel a little tickle in the back of my throat.  By the next day, it was a full-blown sore throat.  We had planned on spending time with Mister and Missus Dear Friend’s in Prescott on our way back home, but that was not to be.  We scooted home, were I promptly went freezer-diving, looking for some of my homemade soup, any kind of soup.  When ever I’m sick, I NEED  soup, but THERE WAS NONE!  So, I opted to make a super easy, old favorite of mine from Hawaii.

Chicken Long Rice

1 boneless-skinless Chicken thigh

2 C. Chicken Broth (I tried Swanson’s Cooking Stock, I really liked it)

2 C. Water

1 Garlic clove, peeled and smashed

½ inch piece of fresh Ginger Root, cut into matchsticks (I used more like an inch)

A pinch of Sea Salt (taste before adding, you may not need it)

1/3 of a package of SaiFun or Bean Threads (Long Rice)

3 Green Onions, cut into 1 inch pieces

In a medium-sized pot, add the water, broth, chicken, ginger and garlic; cook until the chicken is very tender.  Remove the chicken to a bowl and allow to cool slightly.  Shred the meat and return it to the pot.  While the chicken is cooking, place the bean threads into a large bowl of hot tap water to soak for 30 minutes.  Strain the long rice and place into the soup; simmer partially covered for about 30 minutes, until the long rice is also tender.  Add the salt, if needed,  and the greens onions just before serving.

YUM! Chicken Long Rice

This recipe will make 2 very large bowls or 4 small servings.  The dish also freezes very well.  Go ahead and eat those little bits of fresh ginger, this is really good for you, especially when you’re not feeling well, oh and the garlic too.   A trick I learned a long time ago was to take your kitchen shears and cut up the Long Rice in the pot, they are very long.

There are other variations to this recipe, such as adding Black Mushrooms or Hot Chili Peppers.  Some folks do not care for the garlic, others the green onions.  You take this recipe and make it your own, but do try it.

Hawaiian comfort food, Chicken Long Rice

AHHHH, I feel much better now.

ALOHA!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Hawaiian-Chinese Style Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. Mrs Beans April 13, 2015 at 1:48 pm Reply

    That dish will always remind me of my childhood. I need to make some again.

    Like

    • auntiedoni April 13, 2015 at 2:48 pm Reply

      DH does not care for Chicken Long Rice, that’s probably why I don’t make it too often. This batch was just the right size to help me get over feeling sick. Maybe it’s the fresh Ginger Root that I load in. I remember as a kid, my Mother put WAY too much ginger for two little girls to handle, it was HOT! Let me know when you make up a pot Mrs. B. 🙂

      Like

  2. […] Source: Hawaiian-Chinese Style Chicken Noodle Soup […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.