Greek Seasoning, ala Auntie Doni

You’ve heard of Greek Seasoning before right? NO?!  Take a look down the Spice aisle in your local supermarket and you’ll find only one brand of commercially produced Greek Seasoning.

Greek Seasoning from the supermarket

See the ingredients on the back panel:  Black Pepper, Garlic, Oregano, Parsley and “five other spices”, along with some other stuff.   On top of that, it’s not cheap either!

So I did an internet search for a recipe, a formula if you will; there are oodles of them. I already had all of the ingredients in my Spice Rack, so I put together a blend that we really like and I use it in and on just about anything.

Greek Seasoning Ala Auntie Doni

3 tsp. Dried Oregano

2 tsp. each Dried Mint, Thyme, Rosemary, Parsley and Ground Black Pepper

1 tsp each Dried Basil, Marjoram, Granulated Garlic and Onion Powder

That's alot of different ingredients!

In a small bowl, combine all of the ingredients.

I used a Mortar and Pestle

I go one more step and grind everything, working in small batches, in either a Spice Grinder or small Food Processor, or my favorite method, using a Mortar and Pestle, you’ll get a finer grind.

Store in an airtight container for as long as 6 months, but I don’t think it’ll last that long.  I put this in Salad Dressing, on grilled Meats and Vegetables, on Bread dough, like Focaccia before it goes in the oven, anything that you want a hint of Greek in.

I make multiple batches of my Greek Seasoning, they make great gifts 😉

ENJOY!

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Greek Seasoning, ala Auntie Doni

  1. Mrs DF June 22, 2017 at 5:53 am Reply

    Yours is MUCH better without the soy protein, corn garbage, SUGAR and Lordie knows what else in that commercial stuff! Good job!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • auntiedoni June 22, 2017 at 6:37 am Reply

      Thanks Mrs. DF!! Let me know when you need more Greek Seasoning, I just made another batch 😉

      Like

  2. Julie Yates June 22, 2017 at 6:55 am Reply

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • auntiedoni June 22, 2017 at 6:59 am Reply

      Mahalo, thanks Julie! I sure hope that you will try it. The quantities that I gave can be reduced to a smaller batch to see if you like it or need to tweak it to your family’s taste. A recipe is simply someone else’s idea, take and run with it! ALOHA!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.