Homemade Char Siu, Round Two

I’ve already shared with you all about my first go at making my own Char Siu and that I knew that I could do better; so now we come to Round Two.

We went to “The Big City” in search of some of my beloved local-style ingredients and I came across this

   

Hmmm!

This should work just fine.

I found a package of Country-Style Boneless Pork Ribs aka Pork Shoulder in my deep freeze and just knew that a fattier, smaller sized cut of Pork would make for wonderful Char Siu or Chinese Bar-B-Que Pork.

I cut the ribs a bit thinner so that we’d have more surface area for that yumminess to absorb.  I left them in the `fridge for 48 hours, turning and massaging the meat in the marinade in every so often.

I drained the now spent Noh Foods of Hawaii Char Siu Sauce & Marinade off of the meat, preheated the oven to 350° and arranged them on a foil lined sheet pan with a rack inserted.

After roasting for about 30-40 minutes; I checked the internal temperature for about 145° … we don’t want well done Char Siu.  Once cooled, I started slicing and taste-testing, of course.

Oh my gravy all over my two scoop rice (that’s OMG! in my world) THAT ^^^^ is a~maz~ing!

DH and I must have snarfed down a good half pound of the pound and a half of meat  that I cooked.

I had been looking for the powdered mix again,

… but ya know, I think this bottled sauce was far  superior.

Next time, I’m going to reserve some of the sauce for dipping AND  believe me, there will be a next time!!

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.