Plate Lunch Special, Chicken Katsu

Did we talk about the different foods that we eat in Hawaii?

Sure we have, what about Chicken Katsu?

Chicken Katsu Plate Lunch

Oh my, served with some steamed medium grain white rice, Aloha Shoyu and Furikake and a side of my quick cucumber kim chee, MAN!

The main dish here is uber easy…

Chicken Katsu

2-4 boneless-skinless Chicken thighs (or breast)

1 egg white, beaten

1 C Panko bread crumbs

¼ C Rice Flour (Mochiko)

Vegetable Oil

Pound the chicken meat just so that all of the pieces are even in thickness. Set up you breading station, rice flour, egg white and Panko. I keep a clean plate on the side as a landing spot once each piece of meat has been breaded. Dip the chicken, one at a time into the rice flour, shaking off the excess and then into the egg white and lastly the Panko. Press the Panko into the flesh and set aside. Repeat until all pieces are done, and stash in the refrigerator. In the mean time, in the largest skillet that you have add enough vegetable oil so that you come up the side of the pan about ½ inch deep. Heat over medium-high heat until the oil reaches 350⁰. If you don’t have a thermometer, the end of the handle of a wooden spoon will work. If you dip the end into the oil and it bubbles, you’re good to go. Carefully place as many pieces of chicken into the pan without crowding them. Fry on both sides until GBAO (golden brown and ONO, or delicious). As each piece is done, place on a rimmed baking sheet with a wire rack in it rather than on paper towels. This way that beautiful crispy crust you just achieved will stay that way. If need be, place the entire pan into the oven (150⁰) to keep them warm until rest are finished and you are ready to serve.

This recipe feeds two adults

Let’s talk about how to serve this dish. The way that we do it back home is you place each piece onto a cutting board and slice into one inch strips, crosswise. Place the strips on to a plate, together, along side the rice and veggie of your choice. Sauce is optional. We prefer not to, but if you must…

Combine-

1/3 C. Ketchup

1/3 C. Soy Sauce

2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

You can either be a dipper or a pourer over all the chicken. If I do have sauce, I’m a dipper.

Chicken Katsu Plate Lunch

This here is what we would call a plate lunch in Hawaii.  Another variation to the plate would be a HUGE scoop of Macaroni Salad or a small toss (or green salad with French dressing, always!).  I know I put up the same photo twice, but I mean come on, how GOOD does that look.

ALOHA!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Plate Lunch Special, Chicken Katsu

  1. Mrs Beans March 25, 2013 at 5:36 pm Reply

    That looks good! The katsu is so nicely golden brown. I’ve never made my own kim chee, I’ve got to try it! And, of course rice goes with everything!

    Like

    • auntiedoni March 25, 2013 at 5:44 pm Reply

      Mahalo, thank you Mrs. Beans for such a nice compliment. Only us folk from Hawaii could appreciate such a GBAO (golden brown and ONO!) crust on a meager chicken cutlet. Using just the egg white makes for a lighter and crispier exterior. Let me know if you have trouble finding the Noh Kim Chee Mix, I can hook you up my sista’!! ALOHA!

      Like

    • auntiedoni March 25, 2013 at 5:47 pm Reply

      … and I’m with you Mrs. Beans. I never had to make ANY of this deliciousness prior to leaving the Islands, now it’s “the necessity of invention” has driven me! I MUST MAKE KATSU! … with two scoop rice …

      Like

  2. Mainland Kamaaina April 7, 2013 at 11:06 pm Reply

    The Katsu looks Ono but the cucumber is what caught my eye! Okazu!

    Like

    • auntiedoni April 8, 2013 at 8:42 am Reply

      ALOOOOO-HA to all Mainland Kamaaina (love that blog name)!
      So Many Mahalos for stopping by, really appreciate that support from fellow transplants.
      This little homesick island gal NEEDS her local kine grindz!
      The mother of all invention is necessity… Back home I never had to make these dishes, you could find them anywhere. Here in the middle of the desert, I had to teach myself how to create our hometown eats, thank you WorldWideWeb!
      Hope to see you again soon, A Hui Hou!

      Like

  3. […] served our Spam® Katsu along side some Fried Saimin and  since I had that pan of hot Oil, some Chicken Katsu as well. If you want to, a final flourish of chopped Green Onions makes for a pretty […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.