A Birthday Celebration In Food

My husband and I kinda, sorta don’t necessarily give each other gifts for our birthdays.  We feel that every day is a gift, we give each other ‘things’ all the time.  What we like to do for any life event is to make an entire day of it, in food.  Now that’s how you celebrate.

I asked my husband what his perfect day in food would look like and this is what he said.

A Birthday Breakfast

“For breakfast, I’d like my favorite meal, you know the one.  Smoked Salmon (or Lox), diced fresh (Heirloom) Tomatoes, scrambled Eggs (with Chives), Rye Toast no butter lightly toasted please, diced Cantaloupe and a glass of Orange Juice.”

“Since we’re having a big breakfast, how about a snack later in the afternoon, say about 3 or 4 o’clock.  You could make us Bruschetta with those nice Tomatoes on that Italian Bread that you just made.  And how about a small Antipasto plate of Olives, Salami and Cheese.”

“I think for dinner you should definitely make your homemade Cheese Raviolis with your own Marinara, some Meatballs and Italian Sausage.  Oh and that nice Italian Bread would be really good with some Olive Oil to dip it in, don’t you think?”

And he says he’s not a foodie.

All from scratch, Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie

… and we’ve already talked about what he want for dessert.

So that’s how we celebrated my husband’s birthday this past weekend.  Now mind you, it took me a week to prepare for this, I didn’t just whip this all up on his birthday.  It was a very relaxing, enjoyable day.  Hauoli la hanau, Happy Birthday my dearest husband.  I wish for us many, many more.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “A Birthday Celebration In Food

  1. Lynz Real Cooking September 30, 2015 at 9:04 am Reply

    Yummm very nice

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.