Seven Fishes Feast For Christmas Eve Dinner

My husband is American-Italian and there’s a traditional meal that doesn’t float his boat and it’s Christmas Eve dinner of “The Feast of The Seven Fishes”.  Too many of, well, really most of the dishes that his family made for their table he couldn’t eat, he has Shell Seafood allergies.  When he met me, I was his partner in that boat.  This year, I figured, why does it have to be that way?  Can’t I make what we like?  So I did some research on the Internet, and here’s what I found.  You can make pretty much any 7 seafood dishes and call it Seven Fishes!  YAY!  So here’s what I made.

Imitation Krab Cocktail

Imitation Krab Cocktail

This is easy: flake or chunk up some Imitation Krab in a bowl with some diced celery for the crunch factor.  In another small bowl, mix together Ketchup, Horseradish, Lemon or Lime juice and Worcestershire sauce, all to your taste.  Combine the sauce with the Krab and serve cold.

Shrimp Cocktail

Shrimp Cocktail (for me, I’m not allergic).

Buy some lovely precooked peeled Shrimp; add some of that Cocktail Sauce you just made for the Krab, into a small serving dish and arrange the Shrimp in a pleasing manner to you.

Smoked Trout and Radish Crostini

On some store bought toasts, stack some thinly sliced Radish and a small chunk of Smoked Trout.  If you’re NOT my husband, add a dollop of Sour Cream or Creme Fraiche.

Limu (Seaweed) Ahi Poke

Find the freshest Ahi (Tuna) that you can; cut it up into bite sized pieces and follow the package directions on Noh Poke Mix.  I used a quarter of the package to a half pound of cubed fish and some chopped Green Onions for a splash of color, oh and a sprinkle of Sesame Seeds for interest.  Mix gently.

Shoyu Ahi Poke

Shoyu Ahi Poke

It’s just what it sounds like.  Once again, add diced fresh Ahi (Tuna), Sweet White Onions and chopped Green Onions to a bowl and pour in as much Soy Sauce as you wish.  Toss and serve cold.

Lomi Lomi Salmon

Lomi Lomi Salmon

We’ve talk about this dish before here, “Lomi Lomi Salmon, It’s Time For Another Luau”, `member?  Well, the last time I made Salt Salmon, I made enough for 3 recipes, so I froze 2 of the hunks of fish for later.

TJ's Mini Pizzas w/Anchovies

Trader Joe’s frozen Mini Pizzas topped with Anchovies (ack, not my fave)

Perpare the Mini Pizzas as directed and top as you like with pieces of Anchovies.  DH went nuts for this one.  ACK!  As you can see on the platter, there are some pizzas without that stinky fish for me.

Kappa Maki Sushi

Lastly, just because this was turning into a Hawaiian-American-Italian feast, Cucumber Maki Sushi.  We’ve made this dish before too.  Take a deep breath, it’s really not as difficult as you may think.

Christmas Eve 2015 Dinner

Our Christmas Eve Table.

Mele Kalikimaka, Merry Christmas, buon Natale

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Seven Fishes Feast For Christmas Eve Dinner

  1. […] Limu Ahi Poke bowl, yes again.  My favorite place to buy fresh fish, still had fresh Ahi Tuna on sale for $8.99 per pound, so I figured, why not.  This is simple, make the Poke of your choice and serve it over hot steamed rice. […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.