Time For A Cocktail

It just struck me that I shared highlights from our road trip to Prescott, but not one of the fun (just one mind you) points of my birthday, Cherry-tinis.

The vodka was homemade, that’s to say, I made it. Well, I had a bottle of Smirnoff vodka in the pantry that had been sitting there for probably a good year. My younger sister is the only one who really likes to drink vodka, and she hasn’t come to Arizona for quite some time.

Early last Spring, the Cherries that came to our part of the country were absolutely gorgeous. They were deep red, sweet and not a single blemish on them.

900x900px-LL-7b837993_assortedstuff005

I had some Mason jars leftover from another project. So I gave the fruit a good wash, removed their stems and got the jars ready.

Cherry Vodka

I left the pits in them and stuffed the jars as full as I could without crushing the Cherries.

Cherry Vodka

When I poured the vodka in, it turned this beautiful crimson. I had done some research on the Internet, but all I could find was Cherry Cordial type recipes, nothing made with vodka. Have you seen how much they want for flavored vodka? I really didn’t want a sweet drink.

I also had read that it should stay in a cool dark place for a few months. So as we packed up the car for trip to Prescott, I thought that our friends might enjoy this.

Cherry-tinis, Cheers!

I made cute labels on our home office printer to send these jars over the top.  Mister  Friend doesn’t drink, but wanted to taste the cherries, de~li~cious!!  So we grabed some toothpicks and skewered cherries rather than using olives or cocktail onions to swirl around in our `tinis.

CHEERS!

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Time For A Cocktail

  1. The Weary Chef February 19, 2013 at 10:20 am Reply

    That is beautiful and sounds delicious! I’m impressed with your label too. Thanks so much for your recent visit.

    Like

    • auntiedoni February 19, 2013 at 2:27 pm Reply

      I’m having a blast playing with my food 🙂
      Than ks so much for stopping y, I hope to see and hear from you again in the near future. ALOHA!

      Like

  2. […] not sure if you all remember that I had made flavored Vodka… my adorable husband thought that I was nuts, but Missus DF in Prescott as well a few of our […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.