Haole Brownies In The Desert

Growing up in Hawaii, there were two schools that were, to put it simply, arch rivals. Both schools provided a hot lunch for the students every day. In ‘camp A’ there was Caramel Cuts and in ‘camp B’ there was Haole Brownies. Now, let me explain, haole is not a mean term, but it is a real Hawaiian word with several meanings and reported origin. These bar cookies have other names, such as Blondies or Butterscotch Brownies, but for me, they’re my childhood in my hand. I love them; I could easily sit and eat the entire pan, once they cool off that is.

Recently, we went to visit with friends and Mister Dear Friend can’t eat chocolate. Since I was bringing a nice bottle of Prosecco for Missus Dear Friend and I to enjoy, I needed something for the guys. Food always makes a wonderful gift for any occasion and I make a point of taking along something that everyone will enjoy.

This is my version …

Haole Brownies

Haole Brownies In The Desert

1 stick Butter, melted and cooled slightly

2 C. Brown Sugar (either light or dark, whatever you have on hand)

2 Eggs, beaten

2 C. Flour (I buy unbleached AP)

2 tsp. Vanilla Extract

2 tsp. Baking Powder

¼ tsp. Table Salt

2/3 C. Heath English Toffee Bits, divided

 

In a large bowl, combine the butter and sugar with a wooden spoon. Add the next 5 ingredients, along with 1/3 cup of the Toffee bits; mix well, it will be very stiff batter. Prepare a 13x9x2 inch pan by spraying it with cooking spray and fitting it with a piece of parchment paper as a sling. This way you’ll be able to get them out easily and in one piece. Spread the batter evenly into the pan and bake in a preheated oven of 350⁰ for 18 minutes and sprinkle the top with the remaining Toffee bits; bake for another 8-12 minutes. Cool in the pan for about 10 minutes, then with a plastic-disposable knife, release the sides of the pan that are not covered by the paper and lift out carefully to a cooling rack to finish cooling. Cut into bars and devour!

ALOHA!

(*did you figure out which camp I belong to?)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Haole Brownies In The Desert

  1. Mrs Beans February 26, 2013 at 3:50 pm Reply

    All I can think of for rivals (there are many) but big rivals is Kamehameha vs. Punahou.

    It’s funny when I run into people from Hawaii here on the mainland they don’t care where you went to college or have college bumper stickers on their car — it’s all about what high school.

    I want some haole brownies now. :/

    Like

    • auntiedoni February 26, 2013 at 5:51 pm Reply

      IMUA KAMEHAMEHA! Go WARRIORS! 🙂

      Like

      • auntiedoni February 26, 2013 at 5:53 pm

        I forgot my UH RAINBOW WARRIORS, too!!
        ALOHA!

        Like

  2. […] the author of My Kitchen in the Middle of the Desert recommended I try her recipe for Haole Brownies. I had actually been thinking about making bar cookies lately, so I was happy to have this […]

    Like

  3. auntiedoni February 28, 2013 at 3:33 pm Reply

    Mahalo (thanks) Andi for the nod!
    Similar minds think alike…
    I’m always looking to share and inspire.
    Hope to see you again,
    ALOHA!

    Like

  4. […] LOVE THIS STUFF!! […]

    Like

  5. […] So pictured above you’ll see (from left to right) Magic Bars, my Tricked Out Brownies and my Haole Brownies or Caramel Cuts.  I guess not enough people knew what a Magic Bar was, because they sat there all […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.