I Think We Can Eat This

Yeah, um, I was looking through all of my recipes the other day, trying to figure out something ‘new’ that I can add to our diet, I mean new way of looking at food. I have this three-ring binder in my kitchen cabinet where I collect/adapt dishes from people that I’ve met or websites, or TV programs, what have you.

I shared with you my SIL’s recipe for potatoes, well this one is from that same trip back East at Thanksgiving a few years back. It was a really awful day and she put on this yummy smelling pot of bubbling goodness that was done in no time flat. I was thinking that maybe we could eat this without the sausage and rice. HMMM, wait a minute. I’m pretty sure that I saw turkey kielbasa in the market. Maybe we can have this after all.

Quick Gumbo

Quick Gumbo

4 Tbsp. Olive Oil

1 Red Bell Pepper, chopped

2 large Celery stalks, diced

½ C. White Onion, diced

2 Carrots, diced

2 Garlic cloves, minced

2-15oz. can diced Tomatoes

2-4 C. Chicken broth (I use 2, depends on how soupy you like it)

8 oz. frozen Cut Okra

½ tsp. dried Thyme

2 Bay leaves

¼ tsp. Cayenne

6 Green onions, chopped

2 lbs. boneless-skinless Chicken, cut into large bite sized pieces

1 lb. Kielbasa, sliced

Sauté until crisp-tender the peppers, celery, carrots, onions and garlic in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat with the olive oil. Stir in the remaining ingredients; bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover and cook for 30 minutes, until the chicken is done.

Serve with steamed rice (that is of course if you’re eating rice).

**you can add 1lb. of cleaned shrimp at the last 5 minutes or so, be careful not overcook them.

*** we like our soups a bit on the thicker side, so I tightened the broth up at the end with a slurry of about 1 to 1 ½ teaspoons of corn starch and some cold water; stir it into the pot as it’s still boiling, let cook for a few minutes.

I also added a last minute sprinkle of chopped green onions tops for brighten up the flavor.

This recipe will serve 4-6 people hungry people, it’s a full pot, that’s for sure.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.